Housing Sites

Community Development Agency

Housing Sites and the RHNA

As part of the Housing Element update, each jurisdiction in California is assigned a number of housing units to plan for across four income categories (very low-, low- moderate-, and above moderate-income). This is referred to as the Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA). In this cycle, the County's RHNA is 3,569 units, including:

  • 1,100 units for households earning a very-low income and below;
  • 634 units for households earning a low-income;
  • 512 units for households earning a moderate-income; and
  • 1,323 units for households earning an above-moderate income and above.

The 2023 Marin County income limits by household size shows the latest annual income thresholds for the categories above in Marin County.

The Housing Element includes an inventory of sites of where housing could be proposed in the eight-year cycle (2023-2031) to meet the RHNA. Each site is assigned a number of units across income categories. The sites were selected after factoring in State laws around site suitability, along with local knowledge through extensive community engagement. The Site Inventory is included as Appendix C of the 2023-2031 Marin County Housing Element.

Identification of a site as a Housing Element site does not require development but offers additional options if a property owner does elect to develop. The site analysis included in the Housing Element illustrate the development capacity on the site, through planning and zoning studies.

Housing Element Sites Inventory

Housing sites are listed by geographic regions and further organized by community. To view the list of housing sites, click on the listed geographic region below. Alternatively, you can view the housing sites on the map.

  • North Marin (Atherton, Black Point-Green Point, Marinwood, North Novato, and Lucas Valley)
  • West Marin (Bolinas, Lagunitas-Forest Knolls, Nicasio, Olema, Point Reyes Station, San Geronimo Valley, Stinson Beach, Tomales, and Woodacre)
  • Central Marin (California Park, Kentfield, San Quentin, Santa Venetia, Sleepy Hollow, St. Vincent, Unincorporated Fairfax, and Unincorporated San Anselmo)
  • Southern Marin (Almonte, Marin City, Strawberry, and Tamalpais)

Housing Sites Map

⇨ Please click on the picture below to access a full-size map of Marin County Housing Element sites (opens in a new window).

County of Marin Housing Element Sites Map (opens in new window)


Requests for disability accommodations may be made by phoning 415-473-7309 (Voice), CA Relay 711 or by e-mail at housingelement@marincounty.org. Copies of documents are available in alternative formats, upon request.