County of Marin - Board of Supervisors

Board of Supervisors

About the Board

Under California's Constitution and laws, the five members of the Board of Supervisors serve as the legislative and executive body of Marin County. The members are elected by district and they are required to live in the district they represent. Supervisor's terms are four years, and either two or three supervisors are elected every two years.

The supervisors also serve as the governing board for the Open Space District, County Free Library, Flood Control District, Lighting District, county service areas and sewer maintenance districts. Within limits prescribed by the state's Constitution and laws, the board enacts ordinances, determines policies, adopts annual budgets, fixes salaries, is responsible for ensuring that mandated functions are properly discharged, and supervises the activities of County departments. Read more about the board.

For information regarding procedures and guidelines for elected officials, please see Election Information on the Registrar of Voters website.

Knowing which local government agency’s jurisdiction you live in can help expedite any assistance you’re seeking and provide direction for a wide range of questions. To determine which jurisdiction you live in, please see our informational page. To determine which Supervisor’s District you live in, please use our look-up tool or use the Search feature on the map, below.

Address Lookup Tool

This map allows an individual to look up which Marin County Supervisorial District an address is located in:

  1. Enter an address in the upper left search box where it says “Begin typing address.”
  2. Click on the address in the dropdown list and the map will zoom to the address.
  3. Click anywhere on the map to display the District and Supervisor information.

Contact Information

Contact information for a Supervisor’s office can be found by clicking the map. In the popup window, click on the link to the Supervisor’s web page. The link opens a new window.


Incorporated City or Town

Community in Unincorporated Marin


 District 1: Mary Sackett

 District 2: Katie Rice

 District 3: Stephanie Moulton-Peters

 District 4: Dennis Rodoni

 District 5: Eric Lucan

See a full size version of this map.