About the Board of Supervisors

Board of Supervisors
Image of Supervisors   Judy Arnold, Dennis Rodoni, Kate Sears,  Katie Rice and Damon Connolly (From left) District 5 Supervisor Judy Arnold, District 4 Supervisor Dennis Rodoni, District 2 Supervisor Katie Rice (Board President), District 3 Supervisor Kate Sears, District 1 Supervisor Damon Connolly.


The Board of Supervisors has the overall responsibility for the function of county government. They are the legislative and executive body of county government. The Board serves as the governing board of the County Free Library and of many special districts such as Parks & Open Space District, Transit District, and the Housing Authority. The Board passes all ordinances governing the county and is responsible for seeing that mandated functions are properly discharged. They adopt the budget; set employee salaries; direct a wide variety of services to county residents, including public works, roads, voter registration, health and welfare programs, courts, district attorney, public defender, jail facilities, recording of official documents, as well as municipal-type services in the unincorporated area of the county, such as fire and police protection, planning, zoning, land use regulation, traffic regulation, and parks and recreation.

One supervisor is elected from each of five supervisorial districts. Terms are four years. Supervisors are elected by district by Marin County voters residing in that Supervisorial District. View the current Board of Supervisors.

Marin County belongs to and has representation on several regional or multi-county special districts including the Bay Area Air Quality Management District, the Golden Gate Bridge Highway & Transportation District, the California Regional Water Quality Control District (San Francisco Bay Region), the San Francisco Bay Conservation & Development Commission, the Metropolitan Transportation Commission, and the Association of Bay Area Governments.

Marin residents are encouraged to attend meetings and consider volunteering to serve on a citizen's board, committee or commission. Learn more about Marin County's Boards and Commissions.

The 2020 Officers of the Board of Supervisors

  • Katie Rice, President
  • Dennis Rodoni, Vice President
  • Judy Arnold, 2nd Vice President